Steering Committee

The members of the Steering Committee are:

  • Kristen Ratan, Co-Founder, The Collaborative Knowledge Foundation
  • Mark Patterson, Executive Director, eLife Sciences Publications Ltd
  • Andrew Smeall, Chief Digital Officer, Hindawi Ltd
  • John Baker, Managing Director, Digirati Ltd

The specific responsibilities of the steering committee can be summarised as:

  • Ensuring that the community-driven development process is fair and transparent for all participants
  • Evangelising the open source project to possible users, funders and new community members
  • Ensuring adequate participation by staff within each member organization in special interest groups
  • Supporting the project leadership in communicating the benefits and obligations of membership to the community

Joining the steering committee

Any organisation or individual can be a member of the steering committee and new members are added by consensus of the existing committee. Specific individuals representing organisations should be in a senior position and have access to technology or publishing knowledge in their organisation.

For more information please contact the project team at